I love Christmas carols. I know most of the words so it’s easy to sing along and I love a sing-a-long.

My musical biography started with my oldest brother’s record player.   He worked at Morton Hospital, cashed his check and headed to the record store downtown;  then return home with a new 45 each week. There were a lot of Elvis, Chubby Checker, Bill Haley, Beach Boys, and my favorite Buddy Holly.  American Band Stand after school and Ed Sullivan provided lots of opportunity to  jitterbug and twist around the living room.  In high school my mom got me a guitar for Christmas and I tried very hard to be player.  I even auditioned for the school talent show, but could remember the words to Puff the Magic Dargon.  When I got married we had a reel-to-reel tape player with lots of Beatles, Joan Baez, and Carly Simon.  Then with the children we jumped right to  cassettes( no we never had any 8 tracks) with Michael Jackson, Olivia Newton-John, Phil Collins and my favorite Men at Work.  I did enjoy the MTV  video of  Thriller.  I sent boxes of cassettes to the secondhand store.  Next we had CDs and I have about 15 Christmas Albums, I thinking only my older brother would have more.   Now we have: ipods and iphones, ipads and laptops, Youtube, and Pandora.   How are you hearing the sounds of the season?

 What Christmas means to me ….it’s the most wonderful time of the year…time to deck the halls with mistletoe and holly… rock around the Christmas tree… dream of a white Christmas…go for a sleighride…let it snow, let it snow, let it snow… march to the little drummerboy…come home for Christmas….cause Santa Claus is coming to town…hark the hearld angels sings…..a child is born in Bethlehem.

So have yourself a merry little Christmas…cause you’re my Christmas present.!

We Three Kings…3kings

