I like the science of things and yesterday was the  first day of winter….the shortest day of the year, the winter solstice and it kind of gets me going.  Each day will now be a bit longer all the way to the first day of summer…..the longest day of the year, the summer solstice.  In New York they have the Sun Triangle built by sculptor Athelstan Spilhaus, it’s in front of the McGraw-Hill Building.  It’s very cool and if you don’t know about it you’d think it was shiny metal sticking out of the ground.  I just searched the WWW for some good info on it and didn’t find to much, but here is a flickr photo by wallyg and a great one of the sun by top of the lawn.  I’ve been to NY a number of times and always stop by their world headquarters on 1221 Ave. of the Americas (aka 6th Ave) but it would be cool to so on the solstices.  Next time I’ll take my own photos.

